Falcao Must Fight For His Place – RVP

Arrival Rotterdam - Netherlands

As there looks to be tension in the forward spots for a regular starting lineup place, Robin van Persie has come out to say that new signing Radamel Falcao isn’t guaranteed a first-team booking, despite his excellent reputation.

“I welcome his arrival, he makes us better,” the Dutchman said.

“At a top club you should always go for the best, which also fits my philosophy. Falcao must fight for his place, as I also have to.”

That was reasonable from “the flying Dutchman”. It wasn’t a direct challenge to Falcao, but it certainly sent a warning to the new Colombian goalscorer at Old Trafford that his place wont be too easily taken over.

There have been rumours that Falcao was brought in at Manchester United because of van Persie in the need of a knee surgery.

“I am impressed that people have the imagination to invent something like that,” was Van Persie’s response.

“I do not know where it comes from and can say with my hand on my heart that I won’t be in a hospital to have the operation.”

Leave a Reply

