Bayern Munich winger Arjen Robben believes he is still being punished for a dive that won a penalty for Netherlands in the FIFA World Cup this summer.
He says that he is now paying the price for his penalty-winning dive for Holland in their 2-1 win over Mexico, when Cologne’s Daniel Halfar fouled Robben in the penalty area in Bayern Munich’s 2-0 German Bundesliga win over them on Saturday, no foul was given.
“I made a mistake at the World Cup and I owned up to it, but now it seems like I am being punished for it,” Robben told Sky television in Germany.
“You’ve always got to be able to look yourself in the mirror and I can do that today – it was a clear penalty and the referee didn’t give it.”
“I’ve just got to accept it. It’s probably going to happen quite often this season.”