Saido Berahino - The Footballing World

Siado Berahino ‘Lost’ After Steve Clarke Exit

West Bromwich Albion striker Saido Berahino

West Bromwich Albion striker Saido Berahino has revealed that he felt “lost’ after manager Steve Clarke’s departure, but then Alan Irvine restored his confidence.

The 21-year-old’s form went trailing off after the dismissal of Clarke, who was replaced by Spaniard Pepe Mel who only just kept the club in the English Premier League, amid reported off-field indiscretions.

And Berahino has said that West Brom are united again ahead of Sunday’s Premier League clash with Burnley.

“I felt alone [last season], there was no-one I could go to and get advice from at the club,” Berahino is quoted as saying in the Daily Mail.

“I was thrown into a Premier League environment I didn’t know much about.”

“I was learning as I was going and losing Steve Clarke touched me. I kind of lost myself.”

“[But] everyone in the building gets on well with him [new coach Alan Irvine], from the staff in the kitchen to the players.”

“We needed someone like that to bring us all together.”

Leave a Reply

