Ryan Bertrand - The Footballing World

Ryan Bertrand Blasts ‘Dishonest’ Chelsea

Southampton loanee Ryan Bertrand

Southampton loanee Ryan Bertrand claims that the club that loaned him out, Chelsea, didn’t tell the truth about their plans for him, so the left-back stayed at Stamford Bridge rather than quit, with this the ninth time Bertrand being sent out on loan by the Blues, this time to fellow English Premier League outfit Southampton.

UEFA Champions’ League winner Bertrand, who spent the second half of last season at Premier League club Aston Villa, said: “The situation became clear to me before I went on loan to Aston Villa.”

“Right from when I was 17, I was getting those 15, 20, 25, 30-plus games a season until I hit a stumbling block. That’s when the alarm bells rang.”

“Before that, I had a chance to move from the club – because I just want to keep my career moving – but I was advised I didn’t need to do that.”

“It all unravelled in front of my eyes and certain things didn’t make sense in terms of what certain people had said to me. All I ask for is honesty, and I didn’t get that.”

Bertrand has now opened the door to a permanent transfer to Southampton, and insists Chelsea are not even in his thoughts, and the Saints currently have an £8 million option to buy Bertrand permanently next summer.

“Since I left to go on loan to Villa, it’s been about me again. I’d never rule anything out, but it’s just been about getting out there and playing consistently without the thought process of what Chelsea think or whether I’m going back there,” Bertrand said.

Bertrand is also eyeing an England recall, and said: “That’s definitely one ambition. The first was to get into the team here and to play regularly, so if my performances are of a high enough level then I don’t see why not.”

Leave a Reply

