Mario Balotelli - The Footballing World

Strike Partner Would Help Me Break Duck – Mario Balotelli

Liverpool striker Mario Balotelli insists he is working harder to become more of a threat in the penalty area but says he prefers a strike partner to play off.

The Italian ex-Milan man may get his wish for greater support with fellow striker Daniel Sturridge set to return from a thigh injury against Queens Park Rangers in the English Premier League this weekend after missing the Reds’ last seven matches.

In the English international’s absence Balotelli has notched up just one goal, against Bulgarian side PFC Ludogorets Razgrad in the UEFA Champions’ League Group Stage, to boast his efforts since his £16 million from Italian giants Milan in the summer.

The 24-year-old has often frustrated fans by his disappointing performances and admits he is still learning how manager Brendan Rodgers wants him to play, and is now focusing on breaking his Premier League duck.

“I can see already that the Liverpool fans really like me, although I know that maybe they are a little upset because I don’t score,” he told Sport magazine.

“I see they appreciate that I am working hard, though, which is nice for me.”

“I need to get in the box more. I don’t do it enough but it is something I am working to try to do more.”

“If it was my choice, I would always go with two strikers. It’s the way I like to play, but Brendan asked me to play as the first striker.”

Leave a Reply

