Carlo Ancelotti - The Footballing World

I Want To Retire At Real Madrid – Carlo Ancelotti

Real Madrid manager Carlo Ancelotti has revealed he would like to finish his career at the Santiago Bernabeu after taking charge at Real last summer and guiding them to a record tenth UEFA Champions’ League win.

The 55-year-old manager is already eyeing retirement in the Spanish capital, and the Italian is relatively young for a manager who has won three Champions’ League titles in a 19-year career.

When asked by Spanish radio station Cadena SER if he would like to emulate Sir Alex Ferguson, who spent a successful spell lasting over a quarter of a century at Manchester United, Ancelotti said: “It is unthinkable that it is 24 years at this club, but I would like to end my career in Madrid.”

The former Milan, Chelsea and Paris Saint-Germain boss also revealed that he would never consider managing Real’s fierce Spanish La Liga rivals Barcelona, out of loyalty.

“If I train Madrid, I can never train Barcelona,” he said.

“I have to respect my history and the history of the club that I have trained.”

Real president Florentino Perez has often been a controversial figure during his two spells at the helm, and Ancelotti insists he has never asked for any impact on first-team affairs and the manager would be willing to sign a permanent deal to work for the 67-year-old.

“(I would) Sign a permanent contract with Florentino,” he said.

“I have a very good relationship with him. He has always shown me much love, we have never had problems.”

He added: The important thing is to talk, I like to talk about what I’m doing.”

“He has never asked me about the line-up, never, not about who I put in.”

One thought on “I Want To Retire At Real Madrid – Carlo Ancelotti

Leave a Reply

