Rio Ferdinand - The Footballing World

Rio Ferdinand To Retire At The End Of The Season

Embed from Getty Images

Queens Park Rangers defender Rio Ferdinand plans to retire from football at the end of the season, and the 35-year-old said this season with Rangers will likely be his last.

When asked about retirement, he said: “I probably think the end of this season.”

“I’m not fearful of retirement, I’m looking forward to it, I can see some good stuff hopefully happening ahead.”

“You get to a time where you start understanding your body and the strains playing football (is) putting your body through, going out and training every day.”

The former West Ham United, Leeds United, Manchester United and England centre-back, who has worked as a football pundit, expects to stay involved in football in some capacity and has begun his coaching badges.

“I’ve done it for so many years, it’s what I love,” he added.

“I will stay in football I’m sure in some capacity. I’ve signed to BT and stuff and I’ve done stuff with the BBC at the World Cup which I really enjoyed and it’s something I’m sure I will take up and do a bit more (of).”

“I’m doing my (coaching) badges as well and there are other bits and pieces outside of football.”

Leave a Reply

