Ryan Bertrand - The Footballing World

I Should Have Been Called Up To England Squad By Now – Ryan Bertrand

Southampton full-back Ryan Bertrand claims he should have been called up for the England squad by now, and expressed his disappointment at being left out of Roy Hodgson’s Three Lions side.

The Saints’ defender, currently on-loan from Chelsea, where he won the Champions’ League with the Blues two years ago, has found his route to international football blocked at left-back position by St Mary’s refugee Luke Shaw of Manchester United and Everton’s Leighton Baines.

St Mary’s boss Ronald Koeman believes Bertrand, along with the defender’s teammates Nathaniel Clyne and Fraser Forster, should be in Hodgson’s squad for Saturday’s UEFA EURO 2016 qualifier against Slovenia and next week’s friendly against Scotland.

And as the England squad convened at St George’s Park on Monday night, Bertrand, who hopes to make his season-long loan from Stamford Bridge a a permanent move in January, admitted: “Am I disappointed not to be in this England squad? Yeah, very.”

“I’ve started the season very well and we’re second in the (English) Premier League, so I don’t know what the criteria are to get in there at the minute.”

“I do feel I’ll get a chance if I keep performing for my club – or that’s what I thought – but at the end of the day, it’s not down to me.”

“I definitely feel I can still achieve it this season. I feel like I should have achieved it already, so hopefully it will come.”

“There are 17 Southampton players going away on international duty, so it will be quiet around here for the next two weeks.”

“But it’s a chance for those of us who have been left out, like me, to work on things and come back flying again.”

One thought on “I Should Have Been Called Up To England Squad By Now – Ryan Bertrand

Leave a Reply

