Alexis Sanchez - The Footballing World

I Feel More Confident – Alexis Sanchez

Arsenal forward Alexis Sanchez believes still has to improve despite an impressive start to his English Premier League career, and insists his current side have the “quality stars” needed to challenge for the title.

The Chile international scored his 12th goal for the Gunners at Swansea City on Saturday in a league fixture, but his side eventually lost 2-1 at the Liberty Stadium in South Wales.

In an interview with AS Chile, the 25-year-old remains upbeat over the decision to leave Barcelona in Spain after the FIFA World Cup last summer, and that the Emirates Stadium outfit can lift themselves back into contention after the international break.

“Little by little I am gaining confidence in my team-mates and am gradually learning more,” he said.

“At first I had trouble understanding them, knowing where they ran, their movements, what gestures meant what, but every time I feel more confident.”

“I am starting to memorise the moves of my team-mates and I learn to help them – clearly I need to improve and that is what I say in the dressing room, that I could stay a little less with the ball, play one touch play more often to facilitate counter-attacks, that is vital. I must learn that because the rapid transitions are key in this league and with this team.”

While Sanchez concedes the Premier League is “the most complicated football and not easy” in comparison back in his homeland and after subsequent moves to Italian Serie A club Udinese and then onto Barca, the Chilean insists he “likes the challenge”. Sanchez also believes Arsenal, who are currently 6th-placed in the league table, have plenty of talent to come back to challenge leaders Chelsea and also progress in Europe.

“Now that I am here, sometimes I stop to look my team-mates during the training session and I realise that I am surrounded by a lot of quality stars,” he added.

“I have been impressed by their attitude and their talent. I love how they create spaces, their individual and collective movements.”

“I tell you seriously: I like what I see so much that I have repeated myself many times, that if we have the required winning mentality, if we are positive and try to win every single game, I know we can win any competition. I know that with this team we can win many trophies in the coming years. I am convinced. I hope to win everything here. That’s why I came.”

One thought on “I Feel More Confident – Alexis Sanchez

Leave a Reply

