Eden Hazard and DaMarcus Beasley - The Footballing World

Beasley Retires From US National Team

Houston Dynamo midfielder DaMarcus Beasley said on Monday that he is retiring from the U.S. national team after 14 years.

The 32-year-old, who is the first American to play in four FIFA World Cups, has scored 17 goals in a fifth-best U.S. record of 121 international appearances and has played every minute of the Americans’ four games in the 2014 World Cup.

“Honestly I never thought this day would come, representing my country has been the greatest thing I’ve done in my career,” he said in a statement posted on Instagram.

“To all my coaches and teammates, I just want to say thank you, thank you for making me the player I am and the man I will be in the future.”

U.S. National Coach Jurgen Klinsmann congratulated Beasley on Twitter “on a fantastic international career. 4 World Cups is a huge achievement!”

Leave a Reply

