Chris Baird and Saido Berahino - The Footballing World

Berahino explains no celebration

West Bromwich Albion striker Saido Berahino has said he was acting “professionally” by not celebrating his four-goal haul in the Third Round of the English FA Cup in Sunday’s 7-0 win against Gateshead.

The 21-year-old scored an 11-minute hat-trick before grabbing a fourth, and said: “I was just handling business and acting professionally and that’s it.”

“There’s no need for me to explain myself on not celebrating goals.”

With Berahino being linked with a move away from the Baggies, Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur are reportedly interested in signing the England Under-21 international, who has scored 13 goals so far this season.

In December, West Brom described reports linking the striker with a £23 million to Liverpool as “entire fabrication”.

“I just have to do what I do on the pitch,” said Berahino.

“I’m a West Bromwich Albion player and I’ve just got to perform for them and try to get as many goals as I can and contribute to wins.”

“It’s not really difficult because I just ignore the stories and I don’t really read anything into it.”

“Newspapers have said bad things about me so I’m not really fussed what they have to say about where I’m going or what will happen. I just ignore it all.”

Leave a Reply

