Steven Gerrard - The Footballing World

If I didn’t play for Liverpool I’d be watching the FA Cup with the fans! – Gerrard

Liverpool midfielder Steven Gerrard has expressed his love for his side after guiding the club past AFC Wimbledon in their English FA Cup Third Round tie on Monday with a 2-1 away victory.

The Reds long-serving captain announced last week that he will be leaving Brendan Rodgers’ side at the end of the season, and is expected to sign a lucrative deal with American Major League Soccer outfit LA Galaxy.

The former England international notched up a brace at Kingsmeadow as the Merseysiders negotiated their way past a stubborn Wimbledon side, and speaking post-match, Gerrard revealed his passion for both his boyhood club and the historical competition.

He said: “I love the cup, I grew up loving it, but it’s my last time playing it.”

“It’s the beauty of the cup, it doesn’t matter where you are, form goes out of the window. Fair play to their manager, his team gave us a real test.”

“If I wasn’t here playing for this team I’d be in the stands watching! I know what it means to the supporters.”

Leave a Reply

