Gus Poyet - The Footballing World

Inconsistency frustrates Poyet

Sunderland manager Gus Poyet was left frustrated with his side’s lack of consistency after they slipped to a 2-0 home defeat to Queens Park Rangers on Tuesday.

QPR came into the English Premier League clash at the Stadium of Light on the back of 12 straight defeats away from home in all competitions but were good value for their victory courtesy of goals from midfielder Leroy Fer and forward Bobby Zamora.

The defeat to the Loftus Road outfit kept the Black Cats in the relegation scrap – just two points above the drop zone – and Poyet was disappointed that his side couldn’t build on a run of three games undefeated.

“Typical us,” the 47-year-old said.

“When we are in a good situation, we always make a step back, so it’s something we need to correct because it is happening too many times.”

“It happened last year – I am talking only about my time here – and it’s happened again this year. Every time we do something all right, then next step is worse.”

“The players are trying – you could not ask for more. The second half was as much effort as I have ever seen on this pitch.”

“I don’t know if it’s football – I’m sorry about that, I don’t define that as football, I define that as a desperate team running about just trying to be nice with the fans.”

“We need to change. I think it’s time to sit down, everybody, reflect on football, listen, learn and then maybe we can make a bigger step forward.”

“If we keep trying to sort out problems just asking the team to do things we are not capable of doing, then we are going to have this situation for years, with me, without me, with the next manager and with the next five managers.”

“It’s time. I’d like to be the one to change things, but I cannot see it happening in a short period of time.”

Leave a Reply

