Calum Chambers - The Footballing World

Central defence is my favourite position – Chambers

Arsenal defender Calum Chambers says his favourite position to be playing in while playing for the Gunners in the long-term is in central defence.

The defender, who was signed from Southampton in the summer, started the new season at the Emirates Stadium as a centre-back, in where he put in some good performances which saw him included in the England squad.

In an interview with The Sun, Chambers discussed how he came to be involved in central defence for Arsenal initially, a position he never played for the Saints first-team.

“We went to Austria during pre-season and had a training session. The manager told me, “You’re going to be training as a centre-half here because you may have an opportunity to play there at the start of the season””, he explained.

“So I trained at centre-half a few times and it went from there. I made my debut in the Community Shield at Wembley and started a lot of games, Premier League and Champions League in that position.

Chambers is also conscious that, although versatility is a bonus in terms of getting more playing time, there is nothing like playing his own ideal position.

“I don’t want to be known as a utility player who just slots in here, there and everywhere as I want my own secured position,” he continued.

“Long-term, I think I’ll end up as a central defender. It’s my favourite position.”

Leave a Reply

