Eden Hazard and Jose Mourinho - The Footballing World

Old arguments haven’t weakened Mourinho relationship – Hazard

Chelsea winger Eden Hazard said he has had a good relationship with manager Jose Mourinho, despite a series of arguments in the 2013/14 season.

The Belgium international was awarded the Players’ Player of the Year and Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year awards in a campaign which saw him win an English Premier League and English League Cup double last term.

And playing his second season under the Portuguese boss, the 24-year-old said that past arguments haven’t affected his bond with the Blues’ head coach.

“I get on very well with Mourinho,” he told RTL.

“Last season we had two or three disagreements but with Mourinho everything is forgotten quickly.”

Hazard contributed 14 goals and nine assists in 38 league games in the 2014/15 season, and the players said he has embraces Mourinho’s challenge to become a key figure at Stamford Bridge.

He continued: “Yes I am aware [of my new status at Chelsea], perhaps [moreso] off the field because I’m not somebody who talks a lot.

“But on the pitch I try to be the one everybody passes to, even if sometimes I don’t do the right thing.

“The biggest change is that the previous years I’ve always made great seasons, there is not a year when I was bad but there were games where I was a little unnoticed… When I have the ball, I try things, I do what I know, it means dribbling, provoking.

“I try, with my experience and the season I made in a big club like Chelsea, to bring what I know.”

One thought on “Old arguments haven’t weakened Mourinho relationship – Hazard

Leave a Reply

