Sanogo aims to emulate greats as he closes in on Ajax loan move

Arsenal striker Yaya Sanogo said he hopes to emulate former Ajax greats Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Nwankwo Kanu as he closes is on a loan move to the Dutch Eredivisie side, after confirming he was about to undergo a medical with Ajax.

When asked about how he felt in Amsterdam, the 22-year-old said: “I am very happy. Now I go to visit medical.”

The former France U21 international said Ajax manager Frank de Boer had personally contacted him to convince him to make the move and that he was ready to fight for first-team football with the Dutch giants.

“The manager from Amsterdam called me last week and said, ‘I want you to play for us, for Ajax,’ ” he said.

“I am very happy because I didn’t think a big club like Ajax wanted me so I have to work hard to play.

“I hope to score a lot of goals.”

Sanogo hopes to follow the footsteps of Paris Saint-Germain striker Ibrahimovic and former Arsenal striker Kanu, saying: “My reference is Zlatan and Kanu — legends who played for Ajax.”

One thought on “Sanogo aims to emulate greats as he closes in on Ajax loan move

Leave a Reply

