Raheem Sterling - The Footballing World

Sterling denies “sicknote” suggestions for Liverpool training

Manchester City winger Raheem Sterling has denied he feigned illness prior to his £43.75 million transfer from Liverpool to City on Tuesday, after missing two Liverpool training sessions during the club’s pre-season in the lead up to the move.

The 20-year-old has insisted his absence was genuine, telling Manchester Evening News: “Everyone thought I threw a sicknote in.

“I was in training on the Tuesday — in the changing room my stomach started hurting. I still went out and trained though.

“That day I went home, and I told the doc I was ill. My stomach was rumbling and I had diarrhea.

“The doctor just said to me you can’t be around the other players. For the next 48 hours, I stayed at home.

“That’s what the club doctor told me to do. When that 48 hours was done I came back to training as normal.”

The England international added: “That’s exactly what happened. Everyone tries to make it seem bad but you’ve just got to take it on the chin.

“I didn’t really want to add more fuel to the fire so I didn’t comment on it, but thanks for the opportunity to say what really happened and set the record straight.”

Raheem Sterling – Wikipedia

Raheem Sterling – Transfermarkt

Raheem Sterling – WhoScored.com

One thought on “Sterling denies “sicknote” suggestions for Liverpool training

Leave a Reply

