Steve Cook and Harry Arter - The Footballing World

It was “horrible” realising I may miss the first game – Arter

Bournemouth midfielder Harry Arter said it was “horrible” when he realised his injury was likely to seem him miss the start of the English Premier League season, but is focused on coming back.

Cherries manager Eddie Howe revealed after Saturday’s pre-season friendly at Exeter City that Arter would be fortunate to make it to the club’s debut game in the English top flight on August 8 due to injury.

Speaking exclusively after one of his rehab sessions, the 25-year-old Republic of Ireland international told the club’s official website: “It was horrible (realising I may miss the first game), it really was but before that the main thing was trying to find out what was wrong with me. That was probably the worst thing.

“I was going to different people and it took a good few weeks before I found out exactly what was wrong with me, so I’m hoping he has got it right and there won’t be more bad news.

“I may miss the first couple of games but the most important thing is getting myself fit.

“I’m quite positive now actually. I’ve got a clear pattern of how things will go now and I’m looking forward to doing the rehab and getting fit.

“It is an injury where there isn’t really a timescale on it, but it’s not really long term so we will see how my body reacts to the rehab.

“I’m hoping maybe in the next few weeks I’ll be back training properly.

“I’ve got quite a lot of work to do with Steve (Hard – physio) on certain strengthening exercises and some fitness stuff, so as much as I’m not going to be available in the next few weeks, I’ll be able to improve other sides of my games, which I’m looking forward to doing.”

One thought on “It was “horrible” realising I may miss the first game – Arter

Leave a Reply

