Igor Rossi - The Footballing World

Rossi joins Hearts

Hearts have signed Brazilian defender Igor Rossi following the 26-year-old’s exit from Maritimo subject to international clearance.

Rossi told the club’s official website: “I am a leader, I play aggressively, with passion, and I like the ball at my feet to play from the back.

“From what I have seen, this is the Hearts way.”

Rossi revealed that Hearts’ director of football Craig Levein was pivotal in bringing him to Robbie Nielson’s side, saying: “I had seen Scottish sides in Europe, particularly Celtic and the Scottish national side, and, when I was aware of Hearts’ interest, I read up quite a bit about them and saw that they won the league by a huge margin over Rangers, so I was very impressed.

“Robbie was very impressive and he explained to me his ambition for the club, where he expects us to be in the future and how he wants the team to play.

“Craig also spoke very well to me and I was immediately convinced that I should come to Edinburgh and play for the Hearts.

“I believe I will bring good experience from my five years playing in the Portuguese Division 1 (Primeira Liga) and in the (UEFA) Europa League.

“I want to help the club challenge in every tournament we play in and I want to help my new team-mates.

“I’m also hoping to score some goals as I’m good in the air.”

Leave a Reply

