Claudio Ranieri - The Footballing World

Ranieri not ruling out more signings

Leicester City manager Claudio Ranieri said he is not expecting anything else to happen before the transfer window closes on September 1, he would not rule out making more signings, after the latest signing of Napoli midfielder Gokhan Inler for £5 million took Leicester’s spending to more than £25 million this summer.

Ranieri has made central midfield strengthening a priority and in recent weeks also added Caen midfielder N’Golo Kante to his squad.

The Foxes’ boss now believes he has plenty of options, saying: “I am very happy but you never know.

“There are 10 days, something could happen, but I am very calm.

“Up to now I have three good central midfielders – Danny Drinkwater, Andy King, Matty James – now I have Kante and Inler too. The league is very hard and I need good choice.

“I said to the club I would like to choose between 22 players plus some young players.

“I don’t want to be the Tinkerman, I just want to win football matches. Now we play very well and fight very well.

“I am very happy. I like to play with my team because there are some young players, and I want to help them in every ball they touch.

“At Chelsea there were some champions, with my players here I have to work a little more but I have a big passion for my job. I love my job.”

Leave a Reply

