Everton to compete for Grujic

Embed from Getty Images

Everton are set to compete with Chelsea, Manchester United and Inter for Red Star Belgrade midfielder Marko Grujic.

The 19-year-old has been dubbed “the next Nemanja Matic”, and Grujic confirmed last week that Chelsea midfielder Matic had been in touch to let him know the Blues were interested.

Embed from Getty Images

“Nemanja Matic is a friend,” he said.

“He’s Serbian and he has been at Chelsea for over a year. He tells me that they want me.

“Right now I am at Red Star, we are top of the table and I want to win the title here. I don’t think that I’ll be moving in January, but there’s definitely more of a chance in June.”

He has also been the subject of Italian Serie A giants Inter, and Grujic added: “He (former Inter midfielder Dejan Stankovic) called me three weeks ago and Tuesday we will talk after the game against Slovenia.

Embed from Getty Images

“He told me to continue playing like I have been because Inter are following me.

“At the end of the season I will go to Milan to talk to them (Inter). It is a possible destination.”

Everton are now interested in £4.5 million-priced Grujic, with Toffees chief scout Kevin Reeves watching him play for the Serbia U21s against Italy on Friday.

Embed from Getty Images
Leave a Reply

